Practise your listening skills – then write!

Following on from my little rant about technology and switching it off for a while, I have been trying to listen in a more concentrated way to the world around me.
The idea behind this, of course, is to find inspiration for my poetry and other forms of writing. It really does work! On a bush walk this week, the sounds of the bush
were incredible, particularly in the secluded area in which I was walking – no passing cars or trucks to intrude on the sounds of life in the bush. A recent trip to the beach
was also filled with fantastic sounds of waves, and birds and fishing and family. Let me know if you’ve kept an ear out for sounds for your own writing!

Leave a Reply

